Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

BEST
Contact us at: 1-800-345-5669

 

 


Tennessee State Requirements

Continuing Education Hours

  • 24 Hours Biennially Including 3 Hours of Ethics.

License Renewal

  • License renewal date is before the last day of their birth month.

Courses accepted for CE Credit

  • Classroom Courses
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses

Courses Subject Requirements

  • Three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period.

Annuity Requirement

  • Effective November 1,2015: Insurance producer who engage in the sales, solicitation and or negotiation of annuity products shall complete a one-time annuity training course for at least (4) credits by May 1, 2016.
  • All producers licensed on or after November 1, 2015 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting and or negotiating annuity products. *Residents who have satisfied the training requirements of another state that are similar to the TN law, will be deemed compliant for the TN requirements.

Long Term Care Requirement

  • Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in Tennessee, producers must complete an initial 8-hour training course.
  • Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After meeting the initial training requirement, producers must complete
    4 hours of state-approved LTC training in every 24-month period following the initial training.

Carryover Requirements

  • Up to 12 hours may be carried over to the next compliance period.
  • Ethics are carried over as general credits.

Course Repetition

  • Courses may not be repeated within 2 years from original course completion date.
  • Any course hours carried over to next renewal will be counted as duplicate if same course is taken again in new renewal cycle.

Final Exam

  • No monitor required for a final exam.

Exemptions

  • Individuals who have been licensed continuously in Tennessee since January 1, 1994.
  • Non-residents if their state has CE requirements and has a reciprocal agreement with Tennessee.
  • Limited lines.

For Additional Information, Please Contact:

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Insurance Division

Physical Address

500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0565


Licensing Division Contact Information

Phone: (615) 741-2693
State Website: tn.gov


Broker Educational Sales & Training, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy to our clients. Every effort is made to ensure that the information is accurate. However, this information is subject to change, become outdated, or be incorrect due to new legislation or official rulings. Please check with the state to ensure accuracy.


Revised 8/10/2016.