Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

BEST
Contact us at: 1-800-345-5669

 

 


Michigan State Requirements

Continuing Education Hours

  • 24 Hours Biennially including 3 Hours of Ethics.

License Renewal

  • License renewal date is based on the month and year of a producer’s birth.
    • Odd year dates of birth will have CE due the first day of their birth month every two years in all odd years.
    • Even year dates of birth will have CE due the first day of their birth month every two years in all even years.

Courses accepted for CE Credit

  • Classroom Courses
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses
  • Instructors will receive the same amount of credits as the attendees

Courses Subject Requirements

  • Three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period.
  • Twenty-One (21) hours can be completed for any line held.

Annuity Requirement

  • Effective June 1, 2013 producers and brokers must complete an annuity course approved by the commissioner of at least four hours in length and meet carrier producer training requirements. Producers licensed prior to the effective date have until January 1, 2014 to complete training. Completing a course in another state with requirements that "the commissioner determines to be substantially similar to this section satisfies the training requirements" for Michigan.

Long Term Care Requirement

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: *Effective February 22, 2016, All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance must complete a one-time training course of not less than 8 hours by February 22, 2017. All producers licensed on or after February 22, 2016 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products. *Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Michigan's law will be deemed compliant for Michigan's requirement.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training every 24-month period.

Carryover Requirements

  • Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period.

Course Repetition

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period.

Final Exam

  • It is the provider’s responsibility to assure licensees complete exams without assistance. Providers must use a disinterested third party to certify this action or schedule separate testing sessions at a specified location. A disinterested third party is a person who has no financial interest in the success or failure of a licensee maintaining an insurance license.
  • The disinterested third party must also certify the exam was closed book and no other assistance was used to obtain a passing score on the exam.
  • General Monitor Affidavit needed.

Exemptions

  • Individuals licensed 23 months or less at the time of the first CE compliance date are exempt for that first reporting period.
  • Individuals who apply for and receive a hardship waiver for terminal illness of self or of immediate family member who requires an ordinate amount of care by licensee or military duty.
  • Non-residents, by meeting your home state CE requirements you will automatically comply with Michigan’s requirements.

For Additional Information, Please Contact:

Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services

Physical Address

611 W. Ottawa Street
Lansing, MI 48933


Mailing Address

P.O. Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909-7720


Licensing Division Contact Information

Phone: (877) 999-6442 or (877) 373-0220
Fax: (517) 335-4978
State Website: www.michigan.gov/difs


Broker Educational Sales & Training, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy to our clients. Every effort is made to ensure that the information is accurate. However, this information is subject to change, become outdated, or be incorrect due to new legislation or official rulings. Please check with the state to ensure accuracy.


Revised 8/10/2016.