Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

BEST
Contact us at: 1-800-345-5669

 

 


Florida State Requirements

Continuing Education Hours

  • Agents licensed 6 years or less must complete 24 hours Biennially, including 5 hours of Law and Ethics Update.
  • Agents licensed 6 years or more must complete 20 hours of intermediate or advanced level courses, Biennially, including 5 hours of Law and Ethics Update.

License Renewal

  • License renewal date is the last day of the agent’s birth month.

Courses accepted for CE Credit

  • Classroom Courses
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses
  • Seminars – expires 12 months from approval date
  • Instructors will receive the same amount of credit hours as the attendees
  • Active courses do not expire, but courses which have not been offered for a period of 5 years will be terminated
  • Effective 11/30/15 All approved courses in any license category are considered electives and may be taken for CE for any license type. The only exception is the 5 hour update courses which are required to be license specific

Course Level

  • Agents licensed for less than 6 years will receive CE credit for taking Basic, Intermediate, or Advanced courses.
  • Agents licensed for 6 or more years will receive CE credit for taking Intermediate or Advanced courses.

Courses Subject Requirements

  • All approved courses may be taken by any license type with the exception of the 5 hour update requirement; Agents must take the required course authority that pertains to their license type.

5 Hour Law and Ethics Requirement

  • Florida HB 725 requires that 5 hours of the required continuing education for all licensees' be an update course specific to the license held. For licensee's holding 2 different licenses, the 5 hour update course must be completed in the subject area of at least one of their license types.

Annuity Requirement

  • Florida has not adopted the NAIC Model Regulation but has expanded the suitability requirement to include all ages.

Long Term Care Requirement

  • Initial 8 hours LTC – Must include state specific content.
  • 4 hours LTC every 2 years following.

Carryover Requirements

  • Up to twenty-four (24) credit hours can be carried over to the next compliance period.

Course Repetition

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a 3-year period.
  • The 5 hour update course must be submitted as a new course with new information in the outline each year. It will be given a new course ID after each approval, and not considered a duplication.

Final Exam

  • Florida requires 6 questions per credit hour on the examination.
  • Online Courses: Agents are required to acknowledge their understanding that the course examination must be completed unassisted by any person.
  • Self Study Courses:
    • Florida Affidavit of Personal Responsibility
      1. May be taken without a proctor provided the agent presents a sworn affidavit and acknowledge their understanding that the course examination must be completed unassisted by any person.
      2. If the agent is an employee of an agency or corporate entity, the students supervisor or a manager or owner of the agency must also sign the sworn affidavit.
      3. If the student is self-employed, a sole proprietor, or a partner the sworn affidavit must be also signed by a disinterested third party.

Exemptions

  • Licensees in the first 24 months of licensure.

For Additional Information, Please Contact:

Florida Department of Financial Services

Physical Address

Larson Building
200 East Gaines Street, Room 419
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319


Licensing Division Contact Information

Phone: (850) 413-3137
Fax: (850) 488-8253
State Website: www.myfloridacfo.com


Broker Educational Sales & Training, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy to our clients. Every effort is made to ensure that the information is accurate. However, this information is subject to change, become outdated, or be incorrect due to new legislation or official rulings. Please check with the state to ensure accuracy.


Revised 8/10/2016.