Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

BEST
Contact us at: 1-800-345-5669

 

 


Delaware State Requirements

Continuing Education Hours

  • 24 Hours Biennially including 3 hours of Ethics.

License Renewal

  • License renewal is the last day of February in even numbered years
    • Residents renew even numbered years.
    • Non-residents renew odd numbered years.

Courses accepted for CE Credit

  • Classroom Courses
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses
  • Instructors will receive the same amount of credit hours as the attendees
  • Individuals continuously licensed for 25 years or more and/or who hold a CPU, CPCU or other professional designation with annual education requirements receive an automatic credit of 12 hours biennially

Annuity Requirement

  • Effective June 1, 2017: An insurance Producer who engages in the sale of Annuity Products is required to complete a one-time four (4) credit training course. Insurance Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority on the effective date of this regulation (June 1, 2017) and who desire to sell annuities MUST complete the training within six (6) months after the effective date. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after the effective date of the regulation may NOT engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training course has been completed. The satisfaction of the training requirements in another State that are substantially similar to the provisions in the Delaware regulation, are deemed to satisfy the training requirements in Delaware.

Long Term Care Requirement

  • Resident Producers holding a health license and who solicit long term care policies must complete at least three (3) hours of training in Delaware long term care insurance that consists of product knowledge, laws, rules and regulations as part of his/her biennial requirement.

Carryover Requirements

  • Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period.

Course Repetition

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period.

Final Exam

  • No monitor required for a final exam.

Exemptions

  • Limited lines.
  • Newly licensed individuals are exempt for the biennium in which the license is issued.
  • Non-resident who meet the CE requirements of their home state.

For Additional Information, Please Contact:

Delaware Department of Insurance

Physical Address

841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904-2465
Phone: (302) 674-7300
Fax: (302) 736-7906


Licensing Division Contact Information

Phone: (302) 674-7390
Fax: (302) 736-7906
Email: licensing@state.de.us
State Website: www.delawareinsurance.gov


Broker Educational Sales & Training, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy to our clients. Every effort is made to ensure that the information is accurate. However, this information is subject to change, become outdated, or be incorrect due to new legislation or official rulings. Please check with the state to ensure accuracy.


Revised 01/25/2017.