Insurance Continuing Education (CE)

BEST
Contact us at: 1-800-345-5669

 

 


Alaska State Requirements

Continuing Education Hours

  • 24 Hours Biennially including 3 Hours of Ethics.

License Renewal

  • License renewal date is the agent’s birthday. Individuals born in even years renew in every other even year. Those born in odd years renew in every other odd year.

Courses accepted for CE Credit

  • Classroom/Seminar Courses/Instruction by electronic means
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses
  • An instructor may claim one credit hour for each hour the licensee spends instructing

Course Subject Requirements

  • Three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period.
  • No more than eight (8) credit hours per renewal in the subject area of Management, Marketing, and Sales Training.

Annuity Requirement

  • Producers licensed to sell, solicit or negotiate annuities on or before 10/16/2011 must complete a one-time 4 hour Annuity Training before 4/16/2012 in order to continuing to sell annuities
  • Producers who obtain a life insurance license after 10/16/2011 must complete this training before selling, soliciting or negotiating annuity products.

Long Term Care Requirement

  • Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care products in Alaska, producers must complete an initial 8-hour training course. Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Alaska's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.
  • Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTC training requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour follow-up training course every 24-months following the initial training. Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Alaska's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Carryover Requirements

  • No more than eight (8) credit hours may be carried over to the next compliance period. Ethics credits carryover as general credits.

Course Repetition

  • Courses taken multiple times in the same renewal period will not qualify for CE credit.

Final Exam

  • No monitor required for a final exam.

Exemptions

  • Non-residents who have satisfied any CE requirements in their resident state.
  • Any person holding a temporary license or limited lines retired or travel license.
  • If you held an Alaska license before January 1, 1980.

For Additional Information, Please Contact:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development Division of Insurance

Physical Address

State Office Building
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99811-0805


Mailing Address

P.O. Box 110805
Juneau, AK 99811-0805


Licensing Division Contact Information

Phone: (907) 465-2515
Fax: (907) 465-3422
State Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/ins


Broker Educational Sales & Training, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy to our clients. Every effort is made to ensure that the information is accurate. However, this information is subject to change, become outdated, or be incorrect due to new legislation or official rulings. Please check with the state to ensure accuracy.


Revised 01/25/2017.